Ministerial Appointment: Former Senate President Ken Nnamani Reacted To List Of Nominees


Former president of the Senate, Ken Nnamani says it is a privilege for any of the nominees on the President Muhammadu Buhari’s ministerial list to have been chosen to serve.

In an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Wednesday in Enugu, Nnamani said that the president had discharged his executive rights by choosing those who would work closely with him in any capacity.

“When the president of a country chooses anyone that he wishes to work with, if you are a loyal party man, you have to respect the choice and our expectation is for them to justify the reason they are selected,” he said.

He also applauded the re-nomination of former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Geoffrey Onyeama.

Nnamani described Onyema as a humble technocrat whose international contacts, exposure and versatility had helped in restoring the pride of the country in the comity of nations.

Also, former Secretary to the Government of Enugu State, Onyemuche Nnamani observed that party members in Enugu State were happy with the re-nomination of Onyeama.

“To us in Enugu, the nomination is both on merit and a reward for hard work as one of the finest diplomats in Africa; we have been celebrating with the news of his re-nomination,” Nnamani said.

He also said that Onyeama, with his wealth of experience and humility, had the capacity to make the party popular in the South-East region.

President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan, had confirmed that Buhari sent a list of ministerial nominees to the Senate for approval. 

He had confirmed the receipt of the list during Tuesday’s plenary session and went on to reel out the names.

Among the ministerial nominees, Buhari listed former Ministers such as: Chris Ngige, Hadi Sirika, Rotimi Amaechi, Adamu Adamu, Mohammed Adamu, Babatunde Fashola and Lai Mohammed.

Others in the list are: Uche Ogah, Emeka Nwajuiba, Sadiya Farouk, Musa Bello, Godswill Akpabio, Sharon Ikeazor, Ogbonnaya Onu, Akpa Udo, and Adebayo (Ekiti).

Also, Timipre Sylva, Adamu Adamu, Shewuye (Borno), Isa Pantami, Gbemi Saraki, Ramatu Tijani, Clement Abam were also declared as part of the nominees.

Paullen Tallen, Abubakar Aliyu, Sale Mamman, Abubakar Malami, Muhammed Mamood, Rauf Aregbesola, Mustapha Buba Jedi Agba, Olamilekan Adegbite, and Mohammed Dangyadi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here