Mapping and LiDAR: SimActive Integrated with LiDAR Solution for Drones

0
99

Drone-based mapping and LiDAR are a powerful combination. Now, Canada’s SimActive Inc., a leading developer of photogrammetry software that can accommodate aerial imagery from satellite, manned aircraft, or drones, announces the integration of its Correlator3D™ product into LiDAR systems for drones developed by LiDAR USA.

LiDARUSA, also known as Fagerman Technologies, is a family-owned business just outside of Huntsville, AL. Specializing in laser scanning, photogrammetry, instrumentation, and all things geomatics, the company has deep experience in UAV-mounted LiDAR solutions.  Combined with SimActive’s long history in making mapping easy for military, enterprise, and survey companies, the new integration will provide new functionality for LiDARUSA clients.

“Possible configurations include two side-by-side cameras that allow matching the footprint of the LiDAR sensor, a particularly useful setup for corridor mapping,” says a SimActive press release.

“SimActive’s Correlator3D™ software is used for automatically registering the imagery with the LiDAR data.  Once a perfect alignment has been achieved, the point clouds are colorized using the photos.”

“The ability to directly use LiDAR as a control for adjusting image positions really is a unique feature”, said Jeff Fagerman, CEO at LiDAR USA.  “Correlator3D allows our clients to quickly combine LiDAR with data from multi-camera systems and produce high-quality outputs.”

This Thursday, December 10, SimActive will offer two sessions of a special webinar to explain concepts of accurately merging imagery with LiDAR.  For the convenience of a worldwide audience, SimActive will present the webinar at 10:00 a.m. CET/5:00 p.m. CST; and at 1:00 p.m. EST/10:00 a.m. PST.  Register here for the session most convenient.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here